28 122017

South Carolina Data Breach Laws

South Carolina Data Breach Laws: When You Can Be Fined South Carolina's Financial Identity Fraud and Identity Theft Protection Act requires businesses to notify their customers about a data breach and inform consumer reporting agencies when the breach affects more than 1,000 SC residents. Businesses can be fined $1,000 per consumer affected by the breach. This law

28 122017

North Carolina Data Breach Laws: Reporting Requirements

North Carolina businesses that suffer a data breach must notify affected NC residents by mail, phone, or email as soon as possible. If the security breach affects more than 500,000 people, or the cost of notification exceeds $250,000, other means of notification can be used (e.g., public service announcements). If a breach impacts more than 1,000 people, all credit-reporting agencies