28 122017

Alabama Data Breach Law

Alabama Has No State Data Breach Laws For small business is in Alabama, the state has no data breach law at this time. However, the HITECH Act requires notification of breach of personal information by certain health care entities defined in HIPAA. Alabama businesses must also adhere to another state’s laws if they host or use data

28 122017

Tennessee Data Breach Law

When Do You Need to Report a Breach? Any person or company conducting business in Tennessee must follow the state's data breach laws, which require businesses to inform their customers when their data is compromised in a breach. If more than 1,000 Tennessee residents are affected by a breach, businesses will also have to report

28 122017

Florida Data Breach Laws

Regulations and Fines In Florida, any business that experiences a data breach must investigate the likelihood that personal information will be misused. Businesses are legally required to notify affected Florida residents by mail or email within 30 days of the breach. If the security breach affects more than 500,000 people, or the cost of notification exceeds $250,000, other means of

28 122017

Data Breach Requirements in Georgia

Georgia: State Laws In the state of Georgia, any business that suffers a data breach involving personally identifiable information must notify affected Georgia residents as soon as possible through mail, telephone, or electronic means. If the security breach affects more than 100,000 people, or the cost of notification exceeds $50,000, other means of notification can be used (e.g.,